Working in the Bone Orchard


Spent the weekend running a new cone 5 clay through the studio. For my cone 5-6 electric work, I use a white smooth bodied clay, (Laguna B-Mix) and a medium bodied red (Laguna RedStone). I ‘ve habitually used these 2 bodies to develop and explore explore my pallet.


I’m looking for a course buff clay so I’m starting with Laguna Calico. it threw well and stood strong while forming larger canisters.
The real test will be how the clay reacts to slipping and glazing though. On that end, this gave me an excuse to cut two new stencil design sets that had been bumping around in the back of my head all week. One is a leaf and stem motif that’s worked into the background. I like how it worked out… The second is a geometric design that’s to be used for a decal project.

Leave a Reply

