The Casual Influence of Dan Finnegan

Surprise!The kids and I got to open up a very special box yesterday. It was a mug from east coast ceramic artist and blogger Dan Finnegan. This is a big thing for us, we’ve seen lots of amazing examples of salt glazed ware but we haven’t actually gotten to handle any examples as of yet. As I look around, salt glazing seems to be a rare item out here on the west coast. So as I said, this is a big thing for us


Dan’s work is so different from mine and needless to say, my kids went nutz over it. (Thanks Dan, we snuck in a small victory on that one… now my youngest wants to find a salt glazed wood-fire to participate in this year… I told her it’s all about huge piles of combustibles, camping, and fantastic plain-air cooking. She’s hooked.)

Other than the salt glazed and wood fired angle, the detail that I’m focusing in on is Dan’s use of sprigged accents.

I use a sprigged element to hallmark my ware, but I seem to have neglected taking it any further. This is something I’ve put off exploring any further for a few years now… so I’ve grabbed a few of my waxes from my metals studio to use to create a new set of experimental sprigg moulds to play with on the next load of ware.

Thanks for the kick in the pants Dan! I’m looking to make you proud…

Leave a Reply

